Home > Uncategorized > Giving Thanks….

Giving Thanks….

It’s always a good idea to come up with a list of things to be grateful for at this time of year. It’s probably a good idea to be grateful all along the way throughout the year but I forget to sometimes. Thanksgiving is a good catch-all time before all heck breaks loose and the insanity of the Christmas season once again robs us of our peace. So here it is, folks, the time to take stock (and make soup out of it on Friday!)….. 

It’s a little tricky to think of anything in the bigger picture to be thankful for these days. Much of the world is in turmoil and there’s not a darn thing I can do about it but pray for those who are in the midst of it. I guess I can be glad that I’m not one of them though it seems selfish. I’m sure my day will come and I hope there will be someone praying for me. 

On a more micro scale I am grateful for my little world, my neighborhood. As I drove in from a pet sitting visit this morning, I had the opportunity to wave or shout out to at least 4 different people. I took the dogs for a walk soon after and ran into several people that I knew well enough to have short conversations with. Thanksgiving always provides plenty of fodder for conversation and laughter. Do we ever get tired of making jokes about eating too much? 

I am on my own this T-giving and will be feverishly trying to reach many dogs to let them out to tinkle. Though I will not be sharing the holidays with loved ones in person, many have expressed their expectation of having me there in spirit. To them I am grateful for remembering me–I will repay them with sticky high-calorie treats that I made yesterday! Yes! I want fat friends so they can make me look thinner!  

And lest I forget them, I must thank my dogs too, for they are much of the reason I’ve come to know so many people in my community. Murphy, whom I call the Mayor of our street, has gone door to door over time, glad-handing with the people, accepting graciously whatever treat they offered (and in many cases DIDN’T offer). Of course there’s a leash law, but I have to exempt The Murph. She’s too much of a social animal and I think its important to let her have her own relationships with people. Jack, on the other hand, is a pistol. He’s a pretty boy and has grown accustomed to people fawning over his looks. His arrogance is apparent though he is growing into his looks and gaining a sense of humility. He’s a ladies’ man for sure and has many girlfriends on the block. He’s not much for competition from the other boys though. 

And to all of you that I have known over my lifetime, I am thankful. You have accepted me and all my stumbling and fumbling ways and still let me roam around in your lives. I’d send you all sticky high-calorie treats too, but I think I missed the window for T-giving. Look for them at Christmas time….

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. jmac
    November 28, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    I will be waiting for my googy, sticky high calorie treats!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

