Home > Uncategorized > “Observing” the Holidays

“Observing” the Holidays

By choice, and fiscal necessity, I have become an observer of holidays. Not in the sense that I put my hand over my heart and pledge my allegiance to the point of the celebration, but I literally OBSERVE the holidays.  

As a professional pet sitter (how do you really refer to someone who picks up hot dog poopy with their nearly bare hand as a professional? Whoa, way too rhetorical…), my busiest season is during the holidays. People are traveling all over creation and often leave the care of their pets until the last minute. I get it. I never remember my own pets anymore. But during the holidays, you’d darn well better get your reservations in early!   

There is a beauty to spending time with animals over the holidays instead of with people. These dogs and kitties stay home while their people go off and experience occasions that mean absolutely nothing to the pets. Nevertheless, they are alone and my job is to keep them company. The sacrifice for me is well worth it.

Don’t get me wrong — I love my friends and family. But there is something special about people when there isn’t the distraction of people. I finally feel like I’m a fly on the wall.   I drive through these suburban neighborhoods in desperate want of a camera to capture the grandfathers helping their little grandbabies ride their bikes in our balmy November weather, the football game that uses the street as a 50 yard line, the walkers of course, who think they’ll somehow force the volume of their excessive holiday eating out faster if they spontaneously overwork themselves. Sorry, turkeys…the best exercise is to stop opening your pumpkin-pie-holes….

There is something wonderful in merely watching others experience the holidays. It’s not that I don’t enjoy more active participation, but I almost feel closer to the real inspiration of the holiday without so much social distraction.  So, don’t cry for me, friends and family….. I am not alone at all…..

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 26, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    a poignant piece Ellen, thanks Darren

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

