Home > Weather > Just Say NOAH!

Just Say NOAH!

 

 

Tropical Storm Fay just slogged up the east coast of Florida and dumped up to 30 inches of rain in a day or two. I know how deep that is. My inseam is 29 inches, so pretty much, my underwear would get soggy, hopefully from the floodwater, but I’m sure that just seeing that much water flowing down my street would probably guarantee that they’d get soggy anyway…

Friends of ours just moved to a “manufactured home” community nearby. Okay, it’s actually a trailer park. Their taxes are basically free because technically, their abode is considered a mobile home. They can just up ‘n’ move it if they decide to. In a tornado, they would likely be guaranteed residence in a new location, a piece at a time. But tornadoes aren’t as much of an issue here in Florida as hurricanes have become in recent years. 

The west coast of Florida, up until about 5 years ago, was historically immune to hurricanes. My fore-residents used to just snicker at the east coast and all its fancy condos as they kicked back and watched the evening news about palm trees being bent to the ground and newscasters just barely missing getting clipped by flying road signs. Then came hurricanes Charley, Ivan, and Jeanne in 2004, and let me just tell you that there were a few beers spilled and lawn chairs tipped over as we rushed to put up plywood on the windows and dive into the shelter of our stucco houses. The Tampa Bay area was spared by all three, but nearby to the south and north there was plenty of flooding and devastation, especially among the mobile home residents.


 

Which brings me to my point. If mobile homes can be moved, and there are such things as houseboats, why can’t the two be combined, a la Noah’s Ark? Why don’t we build “manufactured homes” that float? They could have flat bottoms so they would be land worthy most of the time, but as soon as that storm surge arrived, they’d easily become a fleet of seafaring residences! I’m sure this would pose a whole new problem for the Coast Guard, but presumably, all of these places could be registered beforehand so there wouldn’t be any problem with identification.

 

Just think of it — and it can be applied anywhere that is prone to flooding — say you had a barn (also a floating mobile unit), you could just keep a rope tied between the house and the barn at all times so that when the water came through, everything would be attached. How about a floating carport? Same idea! Think of the insurance money that would be saved! 

Seriously, don’t you think this is a brilliant idea??? DON’T ANYBODY STEAL IT!!!!

Categories: Weather
  1. August 21, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Yes, this is a brillant idea. Would solve alot of grief in flood plain areas. Check out http://www.floatingstructures.com. This company has been building floating homes, floating roads, etc. for 25 years in the Pacific Northwest. I think the problem is the will of people to change traditional building methods. The technology exists the will is missing.

  2. August 22, 2008 at 12:37 am

    I have a feeling that Mother Nature is well on her way to becoming your top sales rep, Francine… My latest blog entry is regarding Ayn Rand’s “The Fountainhead” and the unwillingness of the general population to accept new ideas about architecture, regardless of how relevant and necessary they are. I know that if I had my house taken out from under me this way more than once, I’d be the fool if I didn’t look into an alternative. I’ll do my best to promote the idea!

  3. August 22, 2008 at 12:45 am

    Well heck, I just did a little online research and my idea has already been patented. It just goes to show that if you don’t jump on these things right away, somebody else will do it first! Time to go invest in some rubber underwear…. Hey, I wonder if anybody’s done THAT one!

  4. October 19, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Let’s face it… all the good ideas are gone. I came up with the idea for squeeze bottles for ketchup before it actually happened, but I didn’t know how to promote my idea.

    I’m glad you’ve been spared by all the hurricane activity, and may your future be filled with dry underwear.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

