Home > Life, Spirituality/Religion > Article in Soul’s Code (www.soulscode.com)

Article in Soul’s Code (www.soulscode.com)

Once upon a time, I was an independent distributor for the Vermont Bread Company in Brattleboro, VT. One of the perks was getting to take home some of the extra bread. If you haven’t had the stuff, there’s nothing better. (A loaf of bread made a great gift for those I deemed worthy :D).

I took on this business when I was 22 years old, shortly after I’d left home and started life out on my own, thanks to the gentle but firm nudge of a friend and wonderful mentor, Caroline Myss. She had given me the simplest yet most profound words of encouragement:

“It doesn’t matter what direction you go in… just take one step.”

On my way past her place one day, I stopped by with three loaves of Cinnamon Raisin bread, her favorite, and left a note on her kitchen table.

“Three loaves of bread… Hardly an even trade for the saving of a life… Thank you”

Please read a little more about how she changed my life at Soul’s Code.

  1. December 9, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    I’ve sometimes wished I could have told the people that changed my life how thankful I am for them. Unfortunately, when I’ve thought about it, it was too late. I should reflect on this more and do something about the very few that are still alive.

  2. Kath
    December 12, 2008 at 4:51 am

    My therapist recently said: the only way to move on is to move on.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

