Home > Good Stuff, Life, Weather > Still here… (*teeth chattering*)

Still here… (*teeth chattering*)

goodstuff1Just so y’all don’t think I’ve fallen off the coast of western Florida…. I’m simply freezing my tuckus off!

I know most of you don’t want to hear about it, since you are freezing WAY more than I am, but I equate cold in Florida with heat in Vermont. It just ain’t natural…

When I first moved to the Tampa area, I was sure I’d suffocate during the summer — the heat was SO oppressive! But eventually I learned that Florida was so well equipped for the heat that suffocation was extremely unlikely, much as a blizzard in Vermont was simply a fluffy white inconvenience.

But the cold here is quite literally bone-chilling. It’s a damp cold so it feels like being submerged in ice water. We have heat in our houses, but there is nothing quite as radiating as the warmth of a wood stove. There are few of those here.

Likewise, the heat in Vermont, those two or three weeks of cloying humidity, was inescapable. Even a swim in the West River did nothing to alleviate the hot, hot, hot… I used to go down to my basement and lie on the concrete floor. It felt great, but didn’t allow for a lot of activity unless you could do it while lying prone. Thank goodness for the Sony Playstation. I got really good at Asteroids during those weeks.

So it’s all relative, and I can at least come by my appreciation of both extremes of temperature honestly now. Thanks to my years here in Florida, I DO know what it’s like to freeze, and living in Vermont, ironically, taught me what it was like to bake. Go figure.

My best to all of you as we weather this wicked winter in our various climes. And should you find yourself needing a break, come on down! If you promise not to make fun of me wearing a parka in the 60 degree weather I won’t make any cracks about your lily-white flesh as you bask in the “warm” sun….

Happy Winter to All!

Categories: Good Stuff, Life, Weather
  1. Cheryl
    January 19, 2009 at 12:44 am

    Thanks Ellen. I felt like you were talking just to me!! We’ll be there to visit…some day….. Feel free to come home and shovel my driveway anytime!!

  2. January 19, 2009 at 3:14 am

    I can’t believe what a winter wimp you’ve turned into in such a short time. I’m going to re-read this post in the summer, so I won’t complain about the heat.

  3. January 19, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    Hey, it’s been 6 years now. If I were to go back up to Vermont right now, I’d probably be plenty warm because it’s SUPPOSED to be cold there. You come down here in August and see what REAL heat feels like, and I shall laugh at you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

