Home > Life, Maybe there IS a God..., Pets, Spirituality/Religion > Finding Answered Prayers in the Tree of Life

Finding Answered Prayers in the Tree of Life

maybeAddendum to my post this morning ( Where is YOUR Happy Place?)

I had a rotten day yesterday. I don’t know about any of you, but some days I sincerely question my own existence. I become so frustrated with my lack of purpose that it turns into an intense internal rage. It’s one of my many little peccadillos that really bust my happiness quotient.

Yesterday I had just about had it with myself. As I rode my bike through my usually happy place, all I could see ahead of me was darkness as clouds filled the sky and drizzled some badly needed rain, but even the aroma of the orange grove smelled putrid. I could not will myself out of this funk.

Pedaling away, oblivious to my surroundings, I metaphorically got down on my knees and screamed, “WHAT – DO – YOU – WANT – FROM – ME ?!?!! PLEASE – SHOW – ME!!!!” No booming voice responded, so I continued to stew on into the evening. 

img_02412This morning I felt a calm quite unlike yesterday. I did not wake up disappointed to see the sun. I took the same bike ride as before and experienced something quite different. 

I took the dogs over to a large field nearby. Wacky Jack and his Weimaraner buddy, Moose, traipsed around with me and Murphy, the 12-year-old lab. A tree I had never noticed before (though it is quite visible) stood nearby. I looked at the dogs and said, “I think I’ll climb that tree.” I haven’t climbed a tree in many years and as I began, I felt a little worried. I’m not as strong as I used to be and my mom just broke her ankle slipping on some pine needles last week. I questioned my plan for a moment but kept climbing. 

img_0252

The dogs stood watching and Moose tried to follow me. They seemed to have never seen such a thing. As I got higher, they ran around and kept checking on me from different angles. I waved from each new height and they eventually gave up worrying. I looked up through the branches and saw a V-shaped formation of perfectly white birds fly over. 

img_0254“THANK YOU!!!” I yelled and waved, startling the dogs below and nearly flipping myself out of the tree. Euphoria threatened to overtake me as I finally understood what it is God wants from me — simply to be grateful! Yesterday I was a mass of ingratitude, but today I heard the answer to my plea. God wants nothing more from me than to be grateful for every part of each day. In my rage, I had forgotten that.

With the dogs watching anxiously, I carefully made my way back down the big branches until I reached the bottom one. There, I looked down at the mulchy stuff around the base of the tree, closed my eyes, and took the three-foot-high leap of faith. My feet hit the ground solidly and I raised my arms above my head like a gymnast sticking a perfect landing.

Then, like an ebullient coach, Murphy fairly leapt on me in excitement as if to say, “WAY TO GO — YOU FINALLY GOT IT!”

  1. Kirsten
    March 25, 2009 at 1:34 am

    Ellen,

    I really liked this– thank you!

  2. March 25, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    We can learn a lot from dogs. They knew the purpose of their life all along. They were just waiting for you to catch up. We get all bogged down with resposibilities, goals and expectations. They wake up having no idea what the day will bring but embrace it for whatever it is, and take joy in the simple things. Now, if I could just practice what I preach.

  3. Tina
    March 25, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    My mantra: “I am at peace, I am at peace, I am at peace” It has the same affect as someone telling you you’re stupid all the time…if you hear it enough, you start to believe it. Just a thought. Peace be with you, Ellen.

  4. Cheryl
    March 28, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Thank you for sharing these epiphanies you have, they tend to be powerful reminders for the rest of us. And I can SO picture you climbing around in the limbs of that tree!

  5. Mama Nance
    March 31, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Stop treating your happiness like a pane of glass, looking through it for a better view instead of at it for what happiness it already is.

  6. jdn
    April 1, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    Wow! It is really true that all God wants from us are the simplest things but they always seem to be the hardest things to do. Thank you for reminding me and sharing your epiphany with all of us.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

