Home > Life, Maybe there IS a God... > Where is YOUR Happy Place?

Where is YOUR Happy Place?

maybeThe next time somebody comes at me with a big hypodermic needle (hopefully a member of the medical profession) and says, “Take a deep breath and go to your “happy place”, I’ll know where to go!

I know, I know… Most of you don’t think it’s possible for me to have a happy place but I do now!

Across the busy 2-lane road that leads from the border of New Port Richey into Tampa is a back country road, paved, but bucolic nonetheless. It connects horse farms, cattle ranches, and lakefront properties. It is relatively untraveled except by residents, so it makes a great place to ride a bike.

jacarandaThe sky today is azure, as sure as I am blessed with eyes to see it. The temperature is in the mid-70s, devoid of humidity, and the wind still delivers a slight chill to my skin. Bright leaves have begun to spring on the late winter bare branches and the blossoms of azalea, jacoranda, and tabebuia light up the landscape. 

ws_logo_orangeblossomBut the best part of my ride is the huge orange grove that runs along the side. In this last week of March the trees are in full bloom, emitting the most invigorating and intoxicating scent! As I ride along on my bicycle, the stiff breeze carries the fragrance nearly all the way along my two-mile path and I find myself faint by the time it fades away, weaving on my bike as I nearly hyperventilate on the delicious perfume.  

The only thing I can think of that would ruin this place for me would be having a head cold in the last week of March….

  1. March 25, 2009 at 2:06 am

    I have a happy place, too… on Cape Ann in Massachusetts. Everyone should know where there’s is. BTW, I love the orange blossom photo. I can almost smell them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

