Home > Life, You've GOT to be kidding! > What the heck, people?

What the heck, people?

kidding1I’m probably going to hate myself for writing about this but I haven’t done a good rant in a long time. Balance in reporting is essential.

I’m probably being unfairly judgmental, but what’s up with parents driving their kids to the bus stop that is less than half a mile away? Why can’t they walk???

I saw a neighborhood kid last night who used to be a little beanpole but is now developing “a gut”. She’s about 7. Her mother drives her and her sister to and from the bus stop every day and all of them are chubby.

This is not a condemnation of chubby people. It’s about laziness. Don’t get me wrong — I’m more than happy to sloth around if given the opportunity, but in this day and age when obesity is an obvious problem, why would a parent consciously enable their child to be lazy? 

Not to mention all the cars sitting on the side of the road idling until the bus shows up. Or the parents who insist on driving their kids to school instead of having them ride the bus, then tie up traffic as hundreds of cars sit waiting to drop the kids off or pick them up. 

I get it that there is concern about bad guys snatching kids, but when there are 15 kids standing there, who’s going to snatch one of them, especially with parents who WALK their kids to the bus stop hanging out with them?

Can you tell I’m not a parent myself? I’d probably be the one driving to the bus stop….

  1. April 26, 2009 at 2:26 am

    As you know, I’m a parent, and I agree with you. Now, I do drive my daughter to school (4-5 miles) rather than having her ride the bus, because it’s a K-8 school and I’d like to preserve her innocence a bit longer. If she did ride the bus, we’d walk the 1/4 mile to the bus stop together except on the below zero or deluge of rain days.

  2. April 26, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    And I suppose with first children or only children it’s different from being the 7th of 8. At that point, you’re on your own!

  3. April 26, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    I remember watching the little-bitty kindergarten kids on the bus with the bigger kids and their fearful faces when I was a young teenager. I know what you mean about the young ones. But I guess I think of the school bus as something of a learning experience in itself. Unless they’ve changed a lot since my day, I don’t think there’s a lot of harm to be found there.

  4. April 27, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    Never mind that….how bout the fact the bus stops at every damn driveway. In my youth we had to walk more than a mile to school and it was up hill both ways. It was a kindler. gentler world back then. When someone would stop and ask if you wanted a ride they’d actually drop you off at the school….unlike today.

  5. Cheryl
    April 28, 2009 at 2:09 am

    I completely agree with you about the cars at the bus stop and at school!! Don’t these people work? Don’t their kids’ legs work? Cassie LOVES to ride the bus, she has learned so many swears!!! And she thinks it’s great to know them, but promises she doesn’t use them!

  6. Mama Nance
    May 4, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    How do these kids cram for the pop spelling test if they’re not together riding in on the bus together quizzing each other ?
    “Nerd Nance”

    How do these kids organize and plot where to skip that day if they’re not together riding in on the bus ?
    “Cool Nance”

    How do these kids learn to jockey for a space, meaning a good seat, if they’re not together riding in on the bus.
    “Calculating Nance” AKA BFF of Nerd Nance

    Bus riding is a good thing…now VACATE the roads Mom.. I’m already late for work!
    “Officer Nance”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

