The Shack

maybeThe older I get, and the more people I meet (or don’t actually meet, but are thrown across my path with the intent of tripping me up), I find myself with more and more questions about spirituality and “my faith”. Often, I spend my days grumbling about what I see in the world that seems so un-God-like to me and my questions turn into demands for answers.

This morning I found a kindred spirit as I finished reading “The Shack” by William P. “Willie” Young. 

shackshrtbannerClick here to learn more

I won’t go into detail other than to describe the book as one man’s journey into truly understanding the nature of God and the brief glimpse he is mercifully given to allow him to heal some profound hurts. Mostly, I found myself nodding and agreeing as my own theology was played out in the story. 

These days I have a hard time attaching myself to any common definitions of religion, as I watch them be stretched and convoluted into unrecognizable creatures. So I search on my own, not as a holy roller, but as a typical human being, for a higher meaning in this life. 

I highly recommend this work of fiction and its well-illustrated journey of one man’s search for truth in hopes that it might help you on yours.

  1. May 13, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    I’ve never found a religeon to embrace, but the closest I can come is Buddhism. Rather than worshiping a God, they worship life. I envy people with devout faith. Somehow, I think life is easier for them.

  2. Cheryl
    May 16, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Last night at Cassie’s softball game in Springfield (don’t ask about it…) a couple of teenage girls were handing out light bulbs and telling everyone that Jesus will light the way (or something to that effect), I told them that I only use energy efficient light bulbs (which is true). They kind of hesitated, then said, “Oh…” and walked away. I agree with our North Walpole friend on everything she said. I think Buddhism and Native American spirituality seem to make the most sense to me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

