Home > Art, You've GOT to be kidding! > Julian Beever, I need your advice…

Julian Beever, I need your advice…

kidding1Don’t take this rating the wrong way. This is an expression of awe, not disgust.

Surely, by now, everyone has seen at least some of the chalk artwork created by Julian Beever. He has mastered the art of creating a 3-D image on a flat surface/sidewalk. 

So of course he has inspired me to at least explore the idea. I haven’t quite figured this out yet and am gripped by crippling pain in my hamstrings each time I try, but my level of fascination is greater than my disdain for the discomfort.

July1

The Declaration of Independence and the tools to sign it

Fourth

We hold these truths to be self evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their creator with certain unalienable rights, among these are Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness

July4

An ink bottle--about as 3-D as I've figured out yet!

 

Without further ado, let me show you how the master himself does it because I’m still baffled myself…

  1. Jaime
    July 8, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    I think you may need the folding stool/stomach prop. he sets up and leans on. I notice his knees remain bent most of the time. I bet he has some solid abs as a result. I sincerely think the magic tool is the mobile seat.

  2. July 8, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    I’ll have to make the female version of the folding stool/stomach prop. It looks none too comfy for those of use with slightly more than flat chests!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

