Home > Art, Good Stuff, Life, Pets > Technology Breakthrough

Technology Breakthrough

goodstuff1I’ve learned an important lesson about media technology lately that makes my Interactive Design degree make some sense.

If I wait around long enough and don’t touch the software, I will eventually understand how it works. It’s like the “think system” from The Music Man — if you just think about playing a musical instrument you’ll be able to!

So in addition to having created a brochure with Adobe Indesign, a logo with Adobe Illustrator, and a YouTube profile, I have now mastered the art of putting a bunch of pictures together in Apple iPhoto and hitting the button that says “slideshow” and the button that says “add music”, I can now produce a pretty cool video complete with the Ken Burns effect! VOILA!!!

I decided to try this with pictures taken during the painting of a mural in North Carolina several years ago. Having taken many pictures of the surrounding area, it makes a neat presentation about where we got our ideas from. In just 3 days, Nancy and I (and Murphy the dog!) managed to tie together a fresh light green, a deep coral, and a bold teal to create a Carolina marsh scene in keeping with the local area.

I was able to put it on Facebook — now let’s see if I can do it here. Pretty soon I’ll be working as a Genius at the Apple store….

Without further ado, check out my first foray into the world of YouTube with accompaniment from Fred Benedetti & Peter Pupping playing an instrumental version of James Taylor’s “Carolina In My Mind”….

Categories: Art, Good Stuff, Life, Pets
  1. October 27, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Fantastic! Now you’re an artist and a film maker. More! More!

  2. Anonymous
    October 27, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    I hadn’t picked up on the Ken Burns angle, but now that you mention it, you’re right. You just need a David McCullough-ish narrator to provide some voice-over describing the artists and the process.

  3. Cheryl
    October 28, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    You are my hero, yet again!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

