Home > Life, Maybe there IS a God... > Remembering Doug Bashaw on Thanksgiving…

Remembering Doug Bashaw on Thanksgiving…

It’s been a little over a year since Doug was taken from us in a motorcycle accident. Those who were closest to him must feel his absence more acutely than I do since I hadn’t seen him but once since high school. In the wake of Doug’s death, I had written a remembrance of him on my blog in which I realized what a true artist he had been.

On Thanksgiving, I felt Doug’s presence more strongly than I ever have as I shared a meal with a young man who is hoping to be an artist when he grows up. As I listened to this young man, a sophomore in high school, tell me about his love for sketching and his hopes of attending the Ringling School of Art someday, I recalled the thoughts I’d had about Doug.

“Don’t wait for someone to teach you how to do it–just do it. Learn to see the world through your own eyes before someone tries to tell you how to see it through theirs. Do it because you love it and not because someone hands you a piece of paper that says you are qualified to do it. If you want to be an artist, be an artist…”

A chill ran up my spine as I realized that I had truly learned the lesson that Doug left behind. Know who you are and what you have to offer, then share it with all your might….

Happy Thanksgiving, Doug…. You are always with us.

  1. Cheryl
    December 8, 2009 at 2:01 am

    That Dougie was a special, special guy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

