Home > Art, Life, Really?, Spirituality/Religion > To Be An Artist….

To Be An Artist….

Recently I made a pronouncement that I resolve to be “a real artist”. What does that mean?

To some, it means that I intend to make my living as an artist; someone that creates on a daily basis in return for monetary compensation.

To me, it is a statement of awareness… an intention to be intensely mindful of the world around me.

It is a reminder to….

listen for the music in the banging of hammers that struggle to rebuild our failing economy…

remember the colors of the day when the night of my mind seeks to obscure them…

…breathe in the acrid stench of nature’s capricious devastations and their requisite suffering…

know that the taste of resentment is fleeting and that sweetness is the norm…

feel the pain of others through the fingertips of my compassion…

In these moments of deep reflection the world becomes my canvas.

When I remember to live in these moments…. I am an artist….

  1. Tina
    January 14, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    You just made me feel all warm and fuzzy art lady! I like you mojo.

  2. Frank
    January 14, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Tears sister.

    Today your resolution breathes in the breath of the universe and exhales her fragrant living essence.

    Oh, how I love you!

  3. Cheryl
    January 20, 2010 at 2:41 am

    Yeah, whatever…. (jk, jk!!!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

