Home > Entertainment, Good Stuff, Life > Fritzi is SUCH a Hedonist!

Fritzi is SUCH a Hedonist!

So, let me tell you a little more about myself. I know you’re interested!

Have you ever met someone and thought to yourself, “That girl just needs to have more fun!

That’s the very thought I had when I met Ellen. It was all I could do not to just go right up to her and slap her and yell “SNAP OUT OF IT!!!

Instead, I grabbed a set of pearls, a headband, a dress and some fabulous gloves and I kidnapped her! That’s right — she never even saw me coming…

You see, I’m just the kind of person she despises — or thinks she does. Ellen is a PK. That’s code for “Preacher’s Kid“. I don’t think she’s religious exactly… I don’t even think her family is very religious. She’s just RIGID! She’s like one of those women from Puritan days, judging everybody and saying “tut-tut” to every expression of FUN… I just couldn’t stand to watch it anymore.

If you’ve ever heard of the book “Sacred Contracts” by Caroline Myss, you know about her theory that we are made up of archtypes; different aspects of our personalities that tend to fall into distinct categories. I, Fritzi, am a total Hedonist. As Caroline describes it, the Hedonist:

“has an appetite for the pleasurable aspects of life, from good food and wine to sexuality and sensuality.”

Caroline goes on to correct a common misperception:

“That the Hedonist is generally thought of as someone who pursues extremes of self-indulgence is more a reflection of our Puritan heritage than of the archetype itself. In positive terms, it inspires creative energy in the psyche to embrace the “good” things in life. It also challenges in a positive way the collective archetypal fear of being seduced and losing control in the physical world.”

That’s what Ellen has been missing! She’d been so busy denying me that she’d gone completely in the other direction!

So I had to just take over for her.

“Darling,” I said, “What are you hiding from? What do you think will happen if you let loose and have fun?”

Without giving her a chance to answer, I gave her my outfit and just shoved her out on the stage.

You should have seen her! If I’d known it would be that easy I would have done it years ago!

So I challenge all of you Hedonists out there to do what you do best! Find those cramped up, cringing, scowling characters and take them out for

A NIGHT THEY’LL NEVER FORGET!

Categories: Entertainment, Good Stuff, Life
  1. June 28, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    Ellen–
    Zany blog today. When you were referring to yourself (on FB) by different names, I wasn’t sure if you were joking–because I notice the Clown archetype in you–or if you were a multiple personality. You speak of yourself in the 3rd person here, but is it to give the Hedonist a voice? Maybe I should go through some of your older blog entries to find out. Hey, a mission of discovery, kind of like Lewis & Clark with the Corps of Discovery. Should be fun.

  2. June 28, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    Hi, Ellen. I’m back.
    Ok, I get it (I think). I just want you to know that I accept you for who you are. Totally. Speaking of archetypes, I have a Hermit and a Misfit (outsider). These parts of myself help me to love that which may not always be accepted by the “normal” world. Therefore, I enjoy abstract and impressionistic art, both as paintings and as people.
    I once had my 4th grade students list their positive and negative traits for a writing assignment. One girl wrote, “I am a freak of nature” in her POSITIVE column. I loved it! The acknowledgement in herself that she was different from others but was totally accepting of that.
    Anyway, I’m rambling….see ya’ around Facebook and other areas of cyberspace, but explored and unexplored. You are lots of fun on FB. I’m on vacation, and FB is like a semi-private playground. Thanks for coming out to play. 🙂

  3. June 28, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    I love that — “Freak of Nature” — I think I have that archetype too! I’m not REALLY a multiple personality (though some might dispute that). I’m just trying to figure out a way to allow the part of me that wants to engage with the world to do so. If I talk about that part of myself in the 3rd-person, she can have a voice. My hermit and saboteur are much too strong and will quash any attempts for the others to get out. Facebook is at least a means to letting the other voices communicate. Freak of nature indeed….

  4. June 28, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Ok, thanks for clearing that up. I found myself in the awkward position of wanting to let you know I accepted you for who you are (if you were a multiple personality) and not sounding patronizing. Weird place to be in, weird thing to wake up to over here on the west coast….so, back to my Spanish lessons. I am so single-minded when I decide to do something, as my husband reminds me. If I say I’m gonna be a spanish-speaker, then I work countless hours to do just that. If I decide to know about a topic, then I dive right in. So if you hear a bilingual splash of water coming, rippling into the gator-filled waters of Florida, you’ll know that’s me. 😉

  5. June 28, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    ….and when the gators habla español, then you’ll really know it’s me. Ha!

  6. June 28, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Our gators ALREADY habla espanol….’tis Florida, after all!

  7. June 28, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    Oh that’s right, they’ve been fraternizing with the Cubans, yes?

  8. June 28, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    ….or maybe they’ve just eaten a few Cubans….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

