Home > Life, Politics, You've GOT to be kidding! > Why Sarah Palin Makes Me Want to Turtle-Up

Why Sarah Palin Makes Me Want to Turtle-Up

Okay, so maybe it’s because I grew up in an atmosphere where humility was the greatest virtue.

Or maybe it’s because I don’t like to fight (much).

Or maybe it’s because Sarah Palin has held up a mirror for me and I don’t like what is reflected.

Whatever the reason, when I hear about the news and views she generates, I feel like hiding. She scares me. I am not comfortable with bombast that encourages people to defeat others with “whatever ya got!” I’m not comfortable with it in sports, or politics, or work. I want to do the best I can but not for the purpose of dominating someone else.

But y’know what’s really true? None of this. I like to win. I don’t play unless I think I can win. I get my energy from the idea that my abilities can kick someone else’s butt. If I get a better offer, I’m outta here.  The only difference between me & SP is that I’m ashamed of it.

I am no different from Sarah Palin.

I surround myself with people who agree with me, whether I’m right or not.

I write a blog full of lovely, fluffy philosophical clap-trap that I expect people to read, whether they give a crap or not. Those who don’t like to fight me read it, sometimes just to humor me (no offense to those whose motives are more pure :)).

I toot my own horn as often as I can (hey, we trumpet players have to keep a “stiff upper lip”, right?). When I do something I think is amazing (like, the kind of thing others do every single day without recognition) I let the world know about it.

I argue just to win. I argue even harder when the other person is right.

I espouse opinions though I have little actual evidence to back them up. I talk too much without researching my facts.

Don’t mistake these admissions for humility — I hate having to make them. The truly humble person does so without need for reward or acceptance. I’m not one of those people.

So maybe I’m just jealous of her.  Maybe I’m more like her than I want to admit, spouting off my limited understanding instead of educating myself about other ideas — but she is making millions doing it.

If I could attach a sense of humility to any of this, it’s the recognition that I am no better than she is; I just see things from a different angle. I can’t simply make fun of her because she is willing to cheer for “her side” without admitting that I do the same for mine, if not quite so aggressively. Perhaps I look just as ridiculous to her as she does to me.

Gosh bless/darn the Internet for making it so easy for us to voice every opinion we have, knowing full well we’ll probably be singing a different tune tomorrow.

Where’s my shell???

  1. January 27, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    You’re not like SP, in the important ways…this from one with more pure motives.

  2. January 27, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    Ellen, Ellen….geez, lighten up on yourself! I have to admit, that yesterday I enjoyed a nice, fluffy little thought re: how kind and compassionate you are. You, lady, are no SP. There, I said it. :-))) Have a great day!!

  3. January 27, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    Hey, we can all fake it if we have to…. I just like the people who DON’T fight with me better so I tend to suck up to them all I can. Makes me feel powerful, just like……

  4. January 27, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Maybe I will just kindly say that Sarah Palin and I are twin sisters on opposite sides of God.

  5. Larry
    January 27, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    You’re right, Ellen – we all have a little bit of Sarah Palin in us. Maybe that is what make her so fascinating to so many people. The difference is, while we have those same tendencies, we strive to do the right thing, to listen to the better angels of our nature. SP has lost touch with her better angel. She has fully embraced the “Sarah Barracuda” persona, never allowing any perceived wrong or perceived insult to go unanswered. She is trapped in a world of her own creation, one where she is the persecuted martyr struggling.

    All of us, but particularly you, show empathy with those around us who struggle. We feel for the sick, the unemployed, the disenfranchise. We try to help where we can and small and large ways. SP has lost all empathy – and even mocks the very idea that empathy is an essential human emotion to help us all live better. She is trapped in a hell of her own making, and while her constant need for attention disgust me, I find that more and more, the only emotion she elicits from me is pity.

  6. Ted
    January 27, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    I do enjoy nice and fluffy, and I do enjoy the blog you write. I don’t find you in any way similar to Sarah Palin though. Whenever Sarah Palin speaks, it hurts me mentally. Besides G.W. I have never been embarrassed as much for this country as I am when I hear political figures like Sarah Palin speak publicly. I think the biggest difference between yourself and Sarah Palin, if I am forced to compare, would be that you put some thought into what you say before you say it. Sarah Palin, like G.W. will answer any question with total nonsense, if she did not truly know what the subject matter was. I notice that you go right to the heart of the subject and attack it full force with ‘in your face’ commentary. Big difference Ellen. Ever think of running for President?

  7. Zon
    January 27, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    I sort of want to cut your post into shreds. In a NICE way, OK? I mean, we are ALL complex creatures, with various and often conflicting visions. That I have one or another character trait does not make similar to Sarah Palin. Not in any way. But, thank goodness, because I might have a bit of that very trait, in conjunction with a bit of larger vision, increases the likelihood for identification with or understanding about another person (yes, even Sarah Palin). What makes YOU different, as others have already noted, is that you bring wisdom (humility, whatever–a FILTER!) to the process of identification which blossoms into understanding and, often, empathy. You see, Sarah is missing several parts of this particular (human) skill set. Would you ever have answered Katie Couric (sp?) by admitting that you read ‘all of them’? Would you ever tell anyone to ‘Reload!”? Would you ever say “obviously” to anyone when you know full well it’s not obvious? Well, Ellen, mostly YOU CRACK ME UP!!

  8. January 27, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    I just looked back and realized I’ve compared myself to SP more than once in my posts and it is generally when I am not feeling very confident about who ELSE I am! Indeed, as Caroline Myss says, we all have at least 12 archetypes vying for dominance in us at all times. I am fascinated by the one that SP represents because it is the shallowest, meanest, most vengeful part of me…. the Mean Queen, perhaps. But I suppose that the rest of my archetypes are the ones that temper her and never allow her too much power. Thank you all for indulging my self-analysis, which, at least I DO!

  9. January 27, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    …well, there was that one time you wanted to squash a frog, Sarah the Twin flame. 😉 (I’m laughing as I type this. You remember that back-and-forth we had with the frog thing? God, that was fun!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

