Giving Birth?

Don’t get all excited — I’m not having a baby. That’s my gift to humanity. One of me is enough!

But if you ever read what I write, you’ll notice a theme.

I’m a reluctant religious fanatic.

I don’t actually want to take part in any of the organized versions but I am fascinated by all of them. Reading people’s ideas about faith and humanity is like crack to me. I’m addicted, and these days my drug is amply available. Facebook alone assures me a lifetime supply — I’m one happy junkie!

But I don’t go in for the hardcore stuff. Can’t afford it. It’s too much of an investment so I get what I can when I can.

I got a good nugget the other day regarding God’s command to us to “be fruitful and multipy”. Most people look at that and say it means that God wants us to have lots and lots of babies (does that mean they should be good at math and not be fruits? After all, “fruits” can’t multiply. Hmmm…. another subject to explore). In a world where our population is causing us some major labor pains, could that possibly be interpreted differently?

I come from a large family. Ten of us, if you include my crazy parents who thought this would be a good idea. You don’t see those numbers much these days and if you do, it’s often within a religious sect known as the Quiverfull movement where women have as many babies as their reproductive organs will withstand (see: Duggar Family. I’m fairly sure that Mrs. Duggar’s uterus must be made of kevlar).

But not all of us were cut out to give birth to human beings. Sure, biologically the goods are all there, but could it be possible that others of us were meant to be impregnated with ideas, or abilities that help us to better serve those whose gift it is to raise children?

I can’t compare what happens for me to actual childbirth since I haven’t experienced it, but my life seems to cycle through “pregnancies” — the initial glow of an idea, the morning sickness with the changing hormones caused by anxiety, the eventual realization that this is really going to happen and I’m going to have to deal with it, and finally the “get this thing outta me before it kills me!!” stage.

That’s the birthing process of a creative idea. Where I have trouble is with the thought of having to raise the idea to adulthood. I know the soul-crushing angst of aborting ideas over and over again so I practice birth control. I sabotage conception all the time. I’ve even thought of just giving birth to a concept and letting someone else raise it but I’m too afraid of what will happen to it if I give up control.

Maybe this is the world we’re living in. Someone tried to tell me that we have to give up all control to God but I just can’t wrap my head around that idea. As human beings we have mastered control over so much in our lives and yet we are just as out of control as ever.

What would the world look like if we didn’t stand in the way of creation?

  1. Mama Nance
    July 21, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    This explains all the great ideas we have to hit it big and we never follow through.
    FEAR !

  2. July 21, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    Well, re: religion. I was raised a Catholic, and after 2 years of Catholic school, Our Lady of Perpetual Help, I became an official “run away Catholic”. Still, I love my saints, angels, Christ, and all the candles and incense that go with that, but on my terms. That means I don’t read the bible, don’t go to church, but allow Spirit to work through me in my day to day activities. I don’t hear or see God, or any of my guides for that matter, but I do believe that Christ is OK with me, and that I am guided, daily. And…this is why I like Caroline Myss so much. She’s got residual Catholicism too, and jokes about it. So it is what it is. But her work allows me to explore my spirituality–to have an actual spiritual practice–and get on with the business of living.

    When I read your journey trying to understand the fundies, and religion in general, I feel your frustration. If it were me, I wouldn’t bother with them–it’s all toxic waste, in my humble opinion–but I honor your road, and your need to “get” them.

    So here’s to the journey…..onward.

  3. July 24, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    love this! yes! i believe there are so many different ways scriptures can be understood because we are all having a unique human experience. it’s nice to know i can stop having human babies now. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

